Converting units of area

The calculator converts standard units of area to a precision of up to two decimal points:

  • millimeters squared (mm2),
  • centimeters squared (cm2),
  • decimeters squared (dm2),
  • meters squared (m2),
  • ares (a),
  • hectares (ha)
  • kilometers squared(km2) .

Conversions therefore work from for example area to metres squared, kilometers squared to hectares or decimeters squared to centimeters squared.

Converting units of area 

You need to input these three values into the calculator:

  1. Area that you want to convert

  2. The unit from which you want to convert

  3. The unit to which you want to convert


Explanation of conversions

In the table you can see how the individual unit conversions work.

From every standard unit to the nearest smaller and larger unit.

Table of standard units of area
1 km2 = 100 ha
1 he
100 a
1 a
100 m2
1 m2
100 dm2
1 dm2
100 cm2
1 cm2
100 mm2

1 mm2       
0.01 cm2            
1 cm2 =
0.01 dm2
1 dm2 =
0.01 m2
1 m2
0.01 a
1 a
1 he
0.01 km2

Converting units of area questions and answers

  • When are hectares used?

    Hectares are primarily used for the area of land. 1 hectare is 0.01 kilometers squared.

  • How does the metric length system work?

    The metric mass system is based on magnitude so the difference between centimeters squared, meters squared and kilometers squared is some power of 10.

Zobrazit sloupec